Why do published SEO prices disagree?
They measure different things. Four of these sources ask providers what they charge, one asks businesses what they spend, and one draws on client project reviews. They cover different countries and different years, and some don't say how their averages were calculated.
| Source | Who answered | How many | Where | When | What it reports |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GoodFirms 2026 survey | SEO agencies | 300+ | Worldwide | Collected April to May 2026; page updated 10/08/2026 | Most common band $1,500 to $5,000 a month (48% of agencies); 43.3% charge under $1,500; 5.5% charge over $5,000 |
| Ahrefs | SEO providers | 439 | Worldwide | Published 12/17/2023, updated 08/15/2024; survey dates not found on the page | $2,917 a month on average; the most common rate was $501 to $1,000 (20.4% of respondents) |
| Backlinko | SEO professionals | Over 300 | Several regions | Page updated 12/29/2025; survey dates not found on the page | Average of $1,000 to $2,500 a month |
| NP Digital | U.S. professionals who know their company's SEO spend | 500 | U.S. | Published 04/18/2025, updated 11/07/2025 | Most common spend $1,001 to $2,500 a month; 50.8% spend $500 to $7,500 |
| Credo | People who do SEO for clients | 383 | Worldwide, with a U.S. split | Page last updated 07/25/2022 | U.S. agencies average $147.93 an hour |
| Clutch | Client project reviews | Not stated | Not stated | Updated 09/21/2026 | $3,199.19 average monthly project cost |
Two limits apply to all six. The figures come from what providers, buyers or reviewers reported to each publisher, and some are averages the publisher calculated from price bands. GoodFirms calls its own ranges "directional market observations rather than fixed universal benchmarks," and its three bands, as published, cover 96.8% of agencies.
What this means for you: Before you trust a number, check three things: whether it describes what agencies charge or what businesses spend, where the respondents work, and when they answered. A worldwide average from providers is not a U.S. local price.